The Valley Center Recreation Commission is a joint City of Valley Center and Valley Center School District commission. The city and school district each appoint two members to the commission board, and the fifth and final at-large member is chosen by the other four commission appointees.

The Recreation Commission was created as the result of a ballot question during the general election of April 5, 1983. Our founding documents grant the commission the responsibility to provide leadership in organizing community resources to ensure recreation services for the patrons of Unified School District #262, at the most reasonable cost.

While the school district is the taxing authority for the recreation commission, the recreation commission board is an autonomous governing body. The Valley Center Recreation Commission meetings are held at 6:30 p.m., the second Monday of each month at the commission office, 117 North Park Avenue.

Current Commission Board Members

Jamie Anderson, President

Danny Park, Vice President

Rod Jackson, Secretary

Barry Hager

Mark Dennett

Current Staff Members

Director of Recreation: Blake Peniston  blake@vcrc.info

Director of Programs: Karah Covey  karah@vcrc.info

Golf Course Maintenance Supervisor: Ern Lickey  ern@vcrc.info

Outdoor Maintenance Supervisor: Eric Thompson  eric@vcrc.info

Office Manager: LeeAnn Walsh  leeann@vcrc.info

Clubhouse Supervisor: Tim Breitigan  tim@vcrc.info